Weissenburg Bad | Lenk-Simmental
New cantonal requirements concerning Corona situation. Hiking trails above 1200 metres can be snow-covered. No scooter offer on 31.10./01.11.2020.

Weissenburg Spa

Where Europe's nobility once came to take a cure

Weissenburg Bad

The source of a hot spring bubbles above Weissenburg in Simmental. For the last 350 years, this Weissenburg mineral spring water has been used for bathing and medicinal purposes. In 1936, the Dutch Queen Wilhelmina came to the spa with her daughter for a leisurely spell. During their time here, Princess Juliana became engaged to Prince Bernhard, thus attracting guests from all over the world.

In 1602 the council of Bern decreed the water source a thermal spring and let the rear Weissenburg Bad with bathhouse be built. Due to the boom of people seeking the bath's healing powers, the front bathhouse and spa, the Grand Hotel Weissenburg Bad, was opened in 1849. The Weissenburg Bad became the meeting place for high nobility and was well-known all across Europe. The flourishing spa came to a temporary halt with the onset of World War I. After the war ended, the number of guests visiting the baths sank and in 1925, the rear bathhouse was closed. After World War II, even the Grand Hotel Weissenburg Bad lost its importance and in the 1960s, it was finally closed for good.

Restoration of the ruined rear bath and chapel in 2014 & 2015
Over nearly the past 100 years, growing vegetation and vandalism has sharply increased; thus leading to the almost complete destruction of the buildings. It was, however, restored under the direction of the Bath and Thermal Spring Weissenburg Association, a restructuring plan, and the scientific management of the Bern Canton Archaeological Services. After the restoration was completed, one could once again clearly see the defined outline of the building ground plans. The preserved historical views and images come together to convey the impression that the bathhouse and hotel buildings are from the late 19th century and early 20th century.

A visit to the Weissenburg Bad is a worthwhile experience for all history, tourism history, architecture and archaeology enthusiasts.

Weissenburg Mineral Water
Around 1930, the young engineer Hans Widmer had the idea to use the thermal spring water to fill up bottles for consumption. In 1935, he founded the Weissenburg-Mineralthermen AG (thermal Spa) and opened up a production facility in the cellar of the spa house with a few employees and simple equipment. It was difficult at the beginning, and not only because of the competition. First of all, mineral water with lemon and orange flavours had already been successful brought to market in Switzerland. The most effective advertising the water received was when the Dutch Queen started having Weissenburg mineral water delivered to her because her doctor had recommended it as a cure.

In1985 the Weissenburg-Mineralthermen AG (thermal Spa) and the Brauerei Feldschlösschen (brewery) merged. Many different factors led to the closing of the company, such as the need for large investments to sustain the quality of the mineral water.

You can, however, still drink Weissenburg Spring Water today. At the Weissenburg train station stop, you can drink the the healing Weissenburg water from the Brünneli (fountain). So fill up your bottles and enjoy the healing powers of this water.

Information

Excursions
The Bath and Thermal Spring Weissenburg association organizes tours on every Thursday, from 9 July to 15 October 2020 (3,5 hours).

Price: Donation to the association

Information and last reservations by 8.00 p.m. Tuesday evening, Nicole Künzi, +41 79 820 17 48, info@weissenburgbad.ch

Visite at Weissenburg Bad
The Weissenburg Bad can be explored with or without a tour. For visits without a tour, there are information boards by the front and rear baths. A tour of the baths with leave you with many impressions as the place comes to life with stories.

Arrival
From the Weissenburg Train Station on foot, it is about 45 minutes away. The well-maintained paths and a little effort make it easily reachable.

Hiking tip
Combine your visit of the Weissenburg Bad with a walk from the rear Weissenburg Bad to Oberwil using the Leiternweide suspension bridge. The Cave Trail Oberwil also lies on the route between the suspension bridge and Oberwil and is worth the visit since it is along the way.

Nonfiction Literature on Weissenburg Bad
A publication from August 2015: Ereignisse & Geschichten, Baugeschichte und bauarchäologische Untersuchungen des Bad Weissenburg, Oberländisches Bäderwesen und Heilbäder der Schweiz.

Reading this research before your visit will deepen your understanding of the Weissenburg Bad. Order with the association or with the Lenk-Simmental Tourism.

Bath and Thermal Spring Weissenburg Association
This association wants to preserve the Spa’s history. This is why the association is glad to welcome new members who are interested in working to preserve this special place and participate in its future.

Seasons   
Where 
Duration 
Categories
  • AlpKultur®
  • Culinary
  • Families
  • Groups
  • History
  • Nature
  • Water

Bath and Thermal Spring Weissenburg Association

Nicole Künzi
CH-3762 Erlenbach
Tel. +41 79 820 17 48
info@weissenburgbad.ch
www.weissenburgbad.ch

Bath and Thermal Spring Weissenburg Association

Nicole Künzi
CH-3762 Erlenbach
Tel. +41 79 820 17 48
info@weissenburgbad.ch
www.weissenburgbad.ch

More experiences to discover

Weissenburg Bad | Lenk-Simmental

Weissenburg Bad

Autrefois lieu de cure thermale pour la noblesse d’Europe

Weissenburg Bad

En amont de Weissenburg jaillit une source thermale. 350 ans durant, l’eau minérale de Weissenburg fut utilisée à des fins thérapeutiques. Depuis qu'en 1936, la reine de Hollande Wilhelmine, accompagnée de sa fille, y séjourna pour une cure et la princesse Juliana se fiança avec le prince Bernhard, cela attira des hôtes du monde entier.

Le conseil de Berne ordonna en 1602 la maîtrise de la source thermale et fit construire les bains «derrière» Weissenburg avec des bains publics. Pour répondre à l’afflux de curistes, un établissement thermal situé à « l'avant » – le Grand Hotel Weissenburgbad – fut inauguré en 1849. Les bains de Weissenburg devinrent le point de rencontre de la haute noblesse et étaient connus dans toute l’Europe. La Première Guerre mondiale mit fin prématurément à l’exploitation florissante des bains. Après la guerre, les curistes furent moins nombreux. En 1925, les bains situés à l'arrière furent détruits. Après la 2ème Guerre mondiale, le Grand Hotel Weissenburgbad perdit lui aussi de son prestige. Il fut définitivement fermé dans les années 1960.

Réfection des ruines des bains situés à l'arrière et de la chapelle en 2014 & 2015
Au cours des 100 dernières années, la végétation et le vandalisme ont mis les ruines à rude épreuve et ont quasiment fait disparaître les structures du bâtiment. Elles ont été restaurées dans le cadre d’un plan de réfection dirigé principalement par l’association des bains et de la source thermale Weissenburg, ainsi que sous la direction scientifique du département d’archéologie du Canton de Berne. Suite aux travaux de réfection, les fondations du bâtiment sont de nouveau clairement visibles sur le terrain. Couplées avec les examens et images historiques obtenus, elles permettent de se représenter les bâtiments des bains et de l’hôtel de la fin du 19ème siècle et du début du 20ème siècle.

Visiter les bains de Weissenburg Bad est très intéressant sur les plans historique, touristique, architectural et archéologique.

Eau minérale de Weissenburg
Vers 1930, le jeune ingénieur Hans Widmer eut l’idée de mettre l’eau de la source minérale en bouteille afin de la boire. Il fonda en 1935 la société Weissenburg-Mineralthermen AG et lança, avec l’aide de quelques employés et des outils rudimentaires, la production dans une salle de la cave de la maison thermale. Les débuts furent difficiles, du fait notamment de la forte concurrence. Pour la première fois en Suisse fut commercialisée à cette époque – avec succès - une eau minérale aromatisée au citron et à l’orange. Lorsque la reine de Hollande se fit livrer de l’eau minérale de Weissenburg après que son médecin la lui eut prescrite pour prolonger sa cure, le coup de publicité fut très efficace.
En 1985, la Weissenburg-Mineralthermen AG et la brasserie Feldschlösschen fusionnèrent. Divers facteurs, tels que par ex. la nécessité de faire d’énormes investissements pour maintenir la qualité de l’eau minérale, ont néanmoins conduit à la fermeture de l’entreprise.

Mais il est toutefois possible de continuer à boire l’eau thermale Weissenburg. Près de l’arrêt de train Weissenburg, l’eau médicinale de Weissenburg jaillit de la Brünneli. Remplissez votre bouteille et dégustez-la chez vous.

Informations

Excursions
L’association des bains et de la source thermale Weissenburg organise des visites guidées les jeudis du 9 juillet au 15 octobre 2020. Rendez-vous à 9h30 à la station BLS Weissenburg.

Prix : collecte pour l’association

Informations et inscription jusqu’au mardi précédent, 20h00 auprès de Nicole Künzi, +41 79 820 17 48, info@weissenburgbad.ch

Visite des bains de Weissenburg
Les bains de Weissenburg peuvent être visités individuellement ou avec un guide. Pour les visites individuelles, des panneaux d’information se trouvent près des bains. Une visite guidée est vivement recommandée pour découvrir les lieux au travers les récits.

Pour s’y rendre
45 minutes de marche depuis la gare de Weissenburg. Chemin facile d’accès.

Bon plan randonnée
Associez la visite des bains de Weissenburg avec une randonnée depuis les bains situé à l’arrière de Weissenburg via le pont suspendu du pâturage d’Oberwil. Le chemin des grottes d’Oberwil se trouve également sur le tronçon entre le pont suspendu.

Livres traitant des bains de Weissenburg
Publication d’août 2015 : Ereignisse & Geschichten, Baugeschichte und bauarchäologische Untersuchungen des Bad Weissenburg, Oberländisches Bäderwesen und Heilbäder der Schweiz.

Cette lecture vous permettra de vous familiariser avec le thème des bains de Weissenburg avant de les visiter. Commande auprès de l’association ou de Lenk-Simmental Tourismus.

Association des bains et de la source thermale Weissenburg
Ce lieu chargé d’histoire ne doit pas disparaître. L’association se réjouit ainsi toujours de l’arrivée de nouveaux adhérents qui se passionnent pour ce lieu et qui veulent contribuer à son avenir.

Saisons   
 
Durée 
Catégories
  • AlpKultur®
  • Famille
  • Groupes
  • Histoire
  • L’eau
  • Nature

Association des bains et de la source thermale Weissenburg

Nicole Künzi
CH-3762 Erlenbach
Tél. +41 79 820 17 48
info@weissenburgbad.ch
www.weissenburgbad.ch

Association des bains et de la source thermale Weissenburg

Nicole Künzi
CH-3762 Erlenbach
Tél. +41 79 820 17 48
info@weissenburgbad.ch
www.weissenburgbad.ch

Découvrez d'autres expériences