Weissenburg Bad | Lenk-Simmental
New cantonal requirements concerning Corona situation. Hiking trails above 1200 metres can be snow-covered. No scooter offer on 31.10./01.11.2020.

Weissenburg Spa

Where Europe's nobility once came to take a cure

Weissenburg Bad

The source of a hot spring bubbles above Weissenburg in Simmental. For the last 350 years, this Weissenburg mineral spring water has been used for bathing and medicinal purposes. In 1936, the Dutch Queen Wilhelmina came to the spa with her daughter for a leisurely spell. During their time here, Princess Juliana became engaged to Prince Bernhard, thus attracting guests from all over the world.

In 1602 the council of Bern decreed the water source a thermal spring and let the rear Weissenburg Bad with bathhouse be built. Due to the boom of people seeking the bath's healing powers, the front bathhouse and spa, the Grand Hotel Weissenburg Bad, was opened in 1849. The Weissenburg Bad became the meeting place for high nobility and was well-known all across Europe. The flourishing spa came to a temporary halt with the onset of World War I. After the war ended, the number of guests visiting the baths sank and in 1925, the rear bathhouse was closed. After World War II, even the Grand Hotel Weissenburg Bad lost its importance and in the 1960s, it was finally closed for good.

Restoration of the ruined rear bath and chapel in 2014 & 2015
Over nearly the past 100 years, growing vegetation and vandalism has sharply increased; thus leading to the almost complete destruction of the buildings. It was, however, restored under the direction of the Bath and Thermal Spring Weissenburg Association, a restructuring plan, and the scientific management of the Bern Canton Archaeological Services. After the restoration was completed, one could once again clearly see the defined outline of the building ground plans. The preserved historical views and images come together to convey the impression that the bathhouse and hotel buildings are from the late 19th century and early 20th century.

A visit to the Weissenburg Bad is a worthwhile experience for all history, tourism history, architecture and archaeology enthusiasts.

Weissenburg Mineral Water
Around 1930, the young engineer Hans Widmer had the idea to use the thermal spring water to fill up bottles for consumption. In 1935, he founded the Weissenburg-Mineralthermen AG (thermal Spa) and opened up a production facility in the cellar of the spa house with a few employees and simple equipment. It was difficult at the beginning, and not only because of the competition. First of all, mineral water with lemon and orange flavours had already been successful brought to market in Switzerland. The most effective advertising the water received was when the Dutch Queen started having Weissenburg mineral water delivered to her because her doctor had recommended it as a cure.

In1985 the Weissenburg-Mineralthermen AG (thermal Spa) and the Brauerei Feldschlösschen (brewery) merged. Many different factors led to the closing of the company, such as the need for large investments to sustain the quality of the mineral water.

You can, however, still drink Weissenburg Spring Water today. At the Weissenburg train station stop, you can drink the the healing Weissenburg water from the Brünneli (fountain). So fill up your bottles and enjoy the healing powers of this water.

Information

Excursions
The Bath and Thermal Spring Weissenburg association organizes tours on every Thursday, from 9 July to 15 October 2020 (3,5 hours).

Price: Donation to the association

Information and last reservations by 8.00 p.m. Tuesday evening, Nicole Künzi, +41 79 820 17 48, info@weissenburgbad.ch

Visite at Weissenburg Bad
The Weissenburg Bad can be explored with or without a tour. For visits without a tour, there are information boards by the front and rear baths. A tour of the baths with leave you with many impressions as the place comes to life with stories.

Arrival
From the Weissenburg Train Station on foot, it is about 45 minutes away. The well-maintained paths and a little effort make it easily reachable.

Hiking tip
Combine your visit of the Weissenburg Bad with a walk from the rear Weissenburg Bad to Oberwil using the Leiternweide suspension bridge. The Cave Trail Oberwil also lies on the route between the suspension bridge and Oberwil and is worth the visit since it is along the way.

Nonfiction Literature on Weissenburg Bad
A publication from August 2015: Ereignisse & Geschichten, Baugeschichte und bauarchäologische Untersuchungen des Bad Weissenburg, Oberländisches Bäderwesen und Heilbäder der Schweiz.

Reading this research before your visit will deepen your understanding of the Weissenburg Bad. Order with the association or with the Lenk-Simmental Tourism.

Bath and Thermal Spring Weissenburg Association
This association wants to preserve the Spa’s history. This is why the association is glad to welcome new members who are interested in working to preserve this special place and participate in its future.

Seasons   
Where 
Duration 
Categories
  • AlpKultur®
  • Culinary
  • Families
  • Groups
  • History
  • Nature
  • Water

Bath and Thermal Spring Weissenburg Association

Nicole Künzi
CH-3762 Erlenbach
Tel. +41 79 820 17 48
info@weissenburgbad.ch
www.weissenburgbad.ch

Bath and Thermal Spring Weissenburg Association

Nicole Künzi
CH-3762 Erlenbach
Tel. +41 79 820 17 48
info@weissenburgbad.ch
www.weissenburgbad.ch

More experiences to discover

Alter der Kinder

Weissenburg Bad

Wo einst Europas Adel zu Gast war und kurte

LoadingK

Oberhalb von Weissenburg im Simmental entspringt eine Thermalquelle. Während 350 Jahren wurde die Weissenburger Mineralquelle zu Bad- und Heilzwecken benutzt. Als 1936 die holländische Königin Wilhelmine mit ihrer Tochter dort zur Kur weilte und sich Prinzessin Juliana während des Aufenthalts mit Prinz Bernhard verlobte, zog das Gäste aus aller Welt an.

Der Rat von Bern verfügte im Jahre 1602 die Fassung der Thermalquelle und liess das Hintere Weissenburgbad mit Badehaus bauen. Um dem Andrang der Heilungssuchenden gerecht zu werden, wurde 1849 das Vordere Bad- und Kurhaus - Grand Hotel Weissenburgbad - eröffnet. Das Weissenburgbad wurde zum Treffpunkt des Hochadels und war europaweit bekannt. Der erste Weltkrieg setzte dem florierenden Badbetrieb ein vorläufiges Ende. Nach dem Krieg waren die Badegäste micht mehr so zahlreich. 1925 wurde das Hintere Bad abgebrochen. Nach dem 2. Weltkrieg verlor auch das Grand Hotel Weissenburgbad an Bedeutung. Es wurde in den 1960er Jahren endgültig geschlossen.

Sanierung der Ruinen Hinteres Bad und Kapelle im 2014 & 2015
In den letzten knapp 100 Jahren, setzten Bewuchs und Vandalismus den Ruinen stark zu und liessen die Baustrukturen fast vollständig verschwinden. Unter der Gesamtleitung des Vereins Bad und Thermalquelle Weissenburg, einem Sanierungskonzept und der wissenschaftlichen Leitung des Archäologischen Dienst des Kantons Bern, wurde restauriert. Nach Abschluss der Sanierungsarbeiten sind die Gebäudegrundrisse im Gelände wieder deutlich abzulesen. Zusammen mit den erhaltenen historischen Ansichten und Bildern vermitteln sie eine Vorstellung von den Bade- und Hotelgebäuden des ausgehenden 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts.

Ein Besuch des Weissenburg Bad ist für alle Geschichts- und Tourismusgeschichte, Architektur- und Archäologie-Interessierten sehr spannend.

Weissenburger Mineralwasser
Um 1930 hatte der junge Ingenieur Hans Widmer die Idee, das Wasser der Thermalquelle als Getränk in Flaschen abzufüllen. Er gründete 1935 die Weissenburg-Mineralthermen AG und nahm mit einigen Mitarbeitern und einfachen Hilfsmitteln den Produktionsbetrieb in einem Kellerraum des Kurhauses auf. Der Anfang war schwierig, nicht zuletzt wegen der grossen Konkurrenz. Erstmals in der Schweiz wurde Mineralwasser mit Zitronen- und Orangengeschmack auf den Markt gebracht - mit Erfolg. Als die holländische Königin sich Mineralwasser aus Weissenburg liefern liess, weil ihr Arzt ihr zu einer Trinkkur geraten hatte, war dies ein wirkungsvoller Werbeeffekt.

1985 wurde die Weissenburg-Mineralthermen AG und die Brauerei Feldschlösschen zusammengeschlossen. Verschiedene Faktoren, wie z.B. die Notwendigkeit enormer Investitionen zur Einhaltung der Mineralwasserqualität, führten jedoch zur Schliessung des Betriebs.

Weissenburger Thermalwasser können Sie aber noch heute trinken. Bei der Bahnhaltestelle Weissenburg läuft das heilkräftige Weissenburger Wasser aus dem Brünneli. Füllen Sie Ihre mitgebrachten Flaschen mit dem Wasser und geniessen Sie es zu Hause.

Informationen

Exkursionen
Der Verein Bad und Thermalquelle Weissenburg organisiert geführte Halbtagesexkursionen am Montag, 10. & 24. Juli, 4. & 25. September und am 9. & 16. Oktober 2017. Treffpunkt ist jeweils um ca. 9.30 Uhr bei der BLS Haltestelle Weissenburg. Anmeldung und weitere Anfragen an Nicole Künzi, Tel. +41 79 649 35 62.

Besuch Weissenburg Bad
Das Weissenburg Bad kann individuell oder geführt besucht werden. Für den individuellen Besuch gibt es Informationstafeln beim Vorderen und Hinteren Bad. Ein geführter Besuch ist sehr Eindrücklich, der Ort lebt mit den Erzählungen und Geschichten auf.

Anreise
Ab Bahnhof Weissenburg sind es 45 Minuten Fussmarsch. Gut ausgebauter Weg, Technik und Kondition sehr einfach.

Wandertipp
Kombinieren Sie den Besuch des Weissenburg Bad mit einer Wanderung vom Hinteren Weissenburg Bad über die Hängebrücke Leiternweide nach Oberwil. Der Höhlenpfad Oberwil liegt ebenfalls auf der Strecke zwischen der Hängebrücke und Oberwil und lässt sich bestens Verbinden.

Sachliteratur Weissenburg Bad
Eine Publikation vom August 2015: Ereignisse & Geschichten, Baugeschichte und bauarchäologische Untersuchungen des Bad Weissenburg, Oberländisches Bäderwesen und Heilbäder der Schweiz.

Mit dieser Lektüre können Sie sich, vor einem Besuch des Weissenburg Bads, ins Thema einlesen. Bestellung beim Verein oder Lenk-Simmental Tourismus.

Verein Bad und Thermalquelle Weissenburg
Dieser Geschichtsträchtige Ort soll erhalten bleiben. Deshalb freut sich der Verein über weitere Mitglieder, welche von diesem speziellen Ort begeistert sind und dessen Zukunft mitgestalten wollen.

Jahreszeiten
Wo
Dauer
Kategorien
  • Historik
  • Familie
  • Gruppen
  • Kultur
  • Natur
  • Wasser
0 0
5 stars   0
4 stars   0
3 stars   0
2 stars   0
1 stars   0
Bewertung abgeben

Verein Bad und Thermalquelle Weissenburg

Nicole Künzi
Güeggisberg 451
3762 Erlenbach
Tel. +41 79 649 35 62
n.kuenzi@weissenburgbad.ch
www.weissenburgbad.ch

Weitere Erlebnisse, die Sie interessieren könnten

Kommentare (0)

*